Home » Foods » Hokkaido Cupcakes : First Attempt ♥

Hokkaido Cupcakes : First Attempt ♥

Finally. I made it today. Just now. After mentioning it so many times to my bf how I’ll bake it someday. I think he’s sick of it as well. Not to mention I was in Malacca back then. And only now at home, in Sabah I finally made it.

Got the recipe from a local blogger, not sure from where. I assume she’s local based on her blog. Nasilemaklover….something.. I’m sorry for my ignorance, and thank you for the recipe. Tried it just now.

I saw it for the first time around last year, when a friend bought it for a farewell potluck. There’re so many of us, yep, many, considering the pizzas finished in one go. Well I think she bought around half dozen, and she gave some of them to a friend who’re leaving for Canada. It’s quite big and very few so I didn’t taste any of them, until today, when I saw them sold individually. So long…. yeah.. I saw them few times in my favorite bakery in Malacca, *sobs* but I didn’t buy them, considering nobody would help me to finish it.. Not even my beloved bf.. Wuwu.. – –

And one other reason, I thought it’s just sponge cake.. I could get sponge cake anywhere but today was exception.  I saw them and got this sudden crave for it. Ate half of it at home and gave mum the other half and she asked me whether I know how to do it. I do now. Ehee~♪

image

3 egg yolk
20 gm sugar
35 gm corn oil
60 gm milk
70 gm cake flour

3 egg whites
25 gm sugar

Method
1. Pre-heat oven to 170C.
2. Arrange paper liners on baking tray.
3. Hand whisk egg yolk and sugar till pale in colour.
4. Add in corn oil and milk, mix well.
5. Sift in cake flour, stir to combine.
6. Beat egg white until foamy, gradually add sugar, and continue beat till soft peak form.
7. Take 1/3 of egg white and use a hand whisk to mix into egg yolk batter.
8. Fold in the balance egg white with a spatula till well combine.
9. Scoop batter into pre-arranged paper liners to about ¾ full.
10. Bake for 20-25 mins

Follow every instructions. The meringue part. I accidentaly made it stiff peak before I fold them with the egg yolk mixture.. Which I’m not sure if it made any different.. Mum said it was nice but the one that I bought is softer. Idk – – Guess I’ll have to make it again to be sure. Nyan! =3

It was good for me, considering I ate two of them and I don’t really go for sponge cake.

And the funniest part is that I even panicked when I saw how pale the top of the cupcakes are. (And it’s just about 15 minutes in the oven) And not to mention they are so perfect that I stared at them, waiting for a crack to appear on the surface. Am I being silly or plain crazy? ><

image

Leave a Reply

